Do people like to jump on moving trains?

A long time ago I worked with a guy, (let’s call him Dick) who despite knowing very little about the film business, taught me a lot about people. In the three years that Dick and I worked together (before he ‘did the dirty’ me), I learned a few valuable lessons about how people think. One of them was ‘people like moving trains’.

Now I’m a few years older myself, I’ve been lucky enough to experience some of the situations that Dick and I spoke about, as well as add a little of Mi Experience to the mix.

So do people like moving trains?

Well, if you’re trying to get on the 6:15 to Birmingham and it’s pulling out of the station then no, BUT, that’s not what we’re talking about here. In business people DO like moving trains! If you’re starting a film or media project, no one really wants to be the first person to jump on-board. No one wants to have the pressure of being the first to champion your project just in case (I’m sorry to say it) it’s crap. So many, many times good projects fail to get going because no one will get aboard the best train in the station.

So for Mi current project I’ve taken a different strategy – I decided to green light it myself! Yep that simple. I decided not to ask for anyone’s approval or backing, I put the proposal together, wrote the script (The Crooked House), started a website (The Haunted Kingdom) and finally began work on a background documentary AKA The Life and Death and Life of The Black Country.

So how is it going? Well funny you should ask – very well.

Mi company owns enough equipment to begin shooting and so far we have shot three ghost stories (for The Haunted Kingdom), two events for the documentary and we have a gaggle of interviewees coming down the pipeline in the next couple of weeks. Things are moving forward and some days I don’t know how, but momentum is gaining and the train is moving because it has to. And people are jumping aboard because, like the 6:15 to Birmingham, they feel they need to. I look forward to rewarding their faith with some quality entertainment.

Please take a minute (well three actually) to watch a great ghost story related by Anthony Ledington.

About in mi experience

I've been creating videos film and media for almost 30 years. View all posts by in mi experience

Got a point of view? Share it here.

